CAF Awards 2023: CAF Releases Shortlists Of Women’s Categories


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the shortlisted players for the Women`s player for CAF award for 2023.

A statement on the CAF website on Monday, said 10 players remain in the race for the prestigious individual honour.

It said other categories included Interclub Player of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year and Club of the Year, have five nominees each.

“The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions,it said.

It said the Awards Gala will take place on Monday, 11 Dec. 11 at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees

Player of the Year (Women)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)

Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)

Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)

Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)

Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)

Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)




South Africa


Club of the Year (Women)

Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

AS FAR (Morocco)

SC Casablanca (Morocco)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

JKT Queens (Tanzania) (NAN)