Emirates Resume Flights To Five African Countries


Flights to and from Ghana, Guinea, Angola, Ivory Coast and Uganda are now available on Emirates Airlines – reversing a ban the company had brought in last month.

A statement from the airline says travellers to Dubai must follow new coronavirus guidance:

  • Passengers entering from GuineaUganda or Ghana must show a 48‑hour negative PCR test, a negative 6‑hour Rapid PCR test and a negative PCR test on arrival.
  • Travellers from Angola or Ivory Coast must show a negative 72-hour PCR test, and another negative PCR test on arrival.

In December, the carrier banned flights from 10 African countries including Ghana, a move believed to be over Covid-19 concerns. Although outbound operations from Dubai to the 10 countries continued, passengers in transit or with Dubai as final destination were not allowed to travel.

Emirates had already suspended flights to Nigeria following a recently imposed directive limiting them to one flight per week there. A rift between the airline and the Nigerian government continued into the new year with no signs of resolution in sight.

Similarly the Kenyan government suspended all inbound and transit passenger flights from the United Arabs Emirates (UAE), for seven days, effective from 10 January.

The authorities say they took that decision to reciprocate a ban on Kenyan passenger flights to the UAE last December following claims of Kenyan passengers testing positive for Covid on arrival in Dubai, despite possessing negative PCR tests from Kenya.